Student Resources

One of the most valuable things we can do for our industry is offer guidance and support to our next generation of land professionals. We invite all students interested in landwork to look into the programs below. 

The Landman Scholarship Trust

The Landman Scholarship Trust is a non-profit trust created by AAPL in 1959 for educational purposes within the meaning of Section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. Since its inception, the Trust has awarded over $2 million in student scholarships.

Learn More

Student Scholarships

Each year the Trust awards cash scholarships to qualified and deserving undergraduate and graduate students from colleges or universities which offer an active and accredited curriculum in Natural Resources Management or similar curriculum who wish to further their training in professional land work, Natural Resources Management or associated occupations.

Learn More

AAPL Accredited Programs

Outstanding Graduate Award

The Trust encourages all students to excel in their educational endeavors.  To further this mission, the Trust recognizes an Outstanding Graduate each year from among the graduates of AAPL’s accredited college or university programs who is pursuing a career as a landman and has demonstrated great leadership in their work, extracurricular activities and their student landmen’s association. 

Learn More

Student Membership in AAPL

Each year the Trust funds the annual AAPL membership fee for all students attending an AAPL accredited college or university program.

Learn More

AAPL Accredited Programs Educate and Equip Next-Gen Landmen

Benefits of AAPL Student Membership

Cash Awards to Colleges and Universities

Trustees are also authorized to award cash contributions to colleges or universities which offer an active and accredited curriculum in Natural Resources Management or similar curriculum if used to promote interest in the curriculum or for related student activities.


Applications for the Outstanding Graduate Award are accepted each year by January 11. Applications for student scholarships are accepted each year by February 1. Applications for cash awards may be submitted at any time. To obtain a student scholarship application, an Outstanding Graduate Award application or an application for a cash award, please contact AAPL at (817) 847-7700 or send an email to aapl@landman.org.

Learn More

Scholarship & Award Recipients

The Trust is pleased to announce the following outstanding graduate and student scholarship recipients:


Award Recipients

2022 Outstanding Graduate
Gabriel Pardue, Western Colorado University

2022 Outstanding Graduate Finalists
Neilsen Leach, Colorado Mesa University
Claire V. Jackson, University of Oklahoma

Scholarship Recipients

Colorado Mesa University
Ashley Bradford
Jared Chapman
Kevin Clark
Wade Leach
Erik Lobato-Contreras
Ben Nagel
Luke Rohweder
Slade Pike
Taylor Price
Christian Valverde
Ethan Warrick
Kaya Wick
Luke Williams
Alene Winslow

Marietta College 
Cole Hammond

Oklahoma City University 
Autum Boehnlein

Texas Christian University
Lori Cox
Quinard Jackson

Texas Tech University
Ally Boland
Keaton Curtis
Ethan Frasier
Garrett Golliday
Luke Langford
Presley Looney
Abby Miller
Tyler Worrell

University of Oklahoma 
Hannah Bailey
Owen Baumgartner
Caleb Fuller
Reese Icenogle
Audrey Massengale
Samuel Perkins
Macie Valles

University of Oklahoma - Law
Benina Cemo
Megan Crawford
Christina Piper

University of Tulsa 
Brett Bowman
Illeana Braddock
Jonathan Fisher
Luis Salazar

Western Colorado University  
Abigail Gridley
Kaden Koksma
Charlie Kulick
Dalton Lorenz
Savanna Meyer
Kayler Miles
Ashley Sokol

West Virginia University 
Benjamin Cromer
Daniel Fay
Jason Ferola
Jefferson Gywn
Connor Looney
Austin McCartney
Duncan Troy